Thanks To ThinkCentre, ThinkPad Lives Again

Ol’ Murphy claimed the life of my ThinkPad a few weeks ago, which spelled disaster for my Adventure Time and other Internet viewing habits.

A few weeks ago, I procured for myself two Lenovo ThinkCentre A58 micro-tower PCs as I am building a home computing lab with which to teach myself the Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) and also the Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) professional computing/networking certifications. Murphy had plans; I was not to celebrate the new toys without retribution. That same day my trusty Lenovo ThinkPad, the system that is my day-to-day machine decided that the cooling fan had had enough, and packed up. With delivery delays, dwindling supplies of quality thermal paste and the occasional (Christmas drinkies came too early (it’s April, FFS!) ), I’ve had to hobble along with 3 metre USB extention cables, USB WiFi adapters and a retrofit of one of the new toys with (shudder) Ubuntu Linux. Ubuntu, well it aint for me, but it provides a more or less “sensible” default config’ to browse, bank and binge-watch cartoons. WiFi reception from my router isn’t great, so I’ve clothes-lined myself a few times with the USB extension cable, but otherwise I am spectacularly impressed with the ThinkCentres.

But now, all is said and done and I’m happily typing this blog post on my newly fixed ThinkPad. Being a fresh new fan, the ThinkPad is unusually quiet. Or maybe it’s the fact the radiators got a good dusting and therefore aren’t storing more heat than they’re radiating…who knows, it aint like I can ask them! The results speak for themselves; I’m just so 50% glad it wasn’t a fan control issue. A fan control fault woud have lead to fun programming an AVR with tempterature sensor to emulate the fan scaling feature…I’m almost disappointed that it’s not required!

Finally alive! The ThinkPad lives again! Time to scour the cartoon and anime websites for material \m/>_<\m/

Leave a Reply

